Your Learning Goals

In the Environmental Leadership Program, we encourage you to determine your own goals and interests, then let us help you select a project that lies on the path towards the exciting future you’ve dreamed of.

Whether your project is rain gardens or healthy woodlands or organic farming or something else, you will select about five Learning Goals, and complete one every two weeks.

To help you understand Learning Goals and the Learning Contract, we are reprinting the following example, borrowed from our post on Monarch Waystations.

What is a Learning Contract?

Your Learning Contract is simply the collection of your five Learning Goals, with one Learning Goal to be completed about every two weeks.

What is a Learning Goal?

Each Learning Goal has four elements …

  • What you will learn or do.
  • How you will learn or do it.
  • Deliverables.
  • Completion date.

Sample Learning Contract …

Here is a Sample Learning Contract from a Monarch Waystation project.

The purpose of this example is to show you what a Learning Contract looks like.

SAMPLE LEARNING CONTRACT for a Monarch Waystations Project …

LEARNING GOAL #1

What I (the participant) will learn: I will explain and describe my five favorite native wildflowers, including …

  • The common name
  • The scientific name
  • The color of the bloom
  • When it blooms
  • Height
  • Ideal soil moisture (dry, wet or medium)
  • Ideal sunshine (sun, shade or partial sun)
  • Does this plant serve as a “larval host plant”? If so, for what insect species?

How I will learn:

  • I will ask my facilitator for guidance.
  • I will search online for helpful articles, pictures and videos.
  • I will share my findings on our Facebook group “Earth & Spirit Environmental Leaders”, and invite helpful feedback, in the form of Facebook “comments”.
  • I will practice explaining my findings with friends over the phone or in person.

Deliverables:

  • I will explain my findings via live presentation to my fellow participants. 
  • I will set up a (free and easy) Facebook page or a (free and easy) WordPress website and post my findings.

Completion date: (Allow about 2 weeks per Learning Goal)

LEARNING GOAL #2

What I will learn: Same as Learning Goal #1, except that I will learn and explain five more of my favorite wildflowers.

How I will learn: Same as LG #1.

Deliverable: Same as LG #1, except that I will be able to explain and describe all ten of my favorite wildflowers.

Completion date: (Allow about 2 weeks per Learning Goal)

Benefits of successfully completing Learning Goals 1-2…

  • You will know more than 99% of people about the wildflowers that monarch butterflies need.
  • You will appear to be an expert because, in a very important sense, you are an expert.
  • You will sound like a gardener with years of experience.

LEARNING GOAL #3

LEARNING GOAL #3

What I will learn: I will learn and explain ten interesting facts about the monarch butterfly.

How I will learn:

  • I will ask my facilitator.
  • I will search online for interesting articles and videos.
  • I will post my findings in our Facebook group “Earth & Spirit Environmental Interns”, and invite helpful feedback from other group members.
  • I will practice explaining my findings with friends over the phone or in person.

Deliverables:

  • I will explain my findings to my fellow participants.
  • I will post my findings on my own Facebook page or website.

Completion date: (Allow about 2 weeks per Learning Goal)

LEARNING GOAL #4

What I will do: I will formulate a list of ten things I want people to do so as to help monarch butterflies.

How I will do this (how I will formulate my list):

  • I will brainstorm the actions I want people to take.
  • I will ask my facilitator for input.
  • I will share my list with in the Facebook group Earth & Spirit Environmental Leaders, and invite feedback.
  • I will practice sharing my list with others via phone and in person.

Deliverables:

  • I will share my list via live presentation in a meeting.
  • I will share my list on my website or my own Facebook page (not your personal Facebook feed, but a page you have set up expressly for this  Environmental Leadership Program).

Completion date: (Allow about 2 weeks per Learning Goal)

LEARNING GOAL #5

What I will create: I will create a live presentation that I will deliver to a campus group or a garden club. My live presentation will include:

  • Interesting facts about monarchs.
  • Engaging images (via slideshow or website) featuring wildflowers, butterflies, etc.
  • Actions that I want people to take.

How I will create it.

  • I will draw upon my knowledge and skills from LEARNING GOALS 1-4.

Deliverables:

  • A practice talk delivered to my fellow interns in a meeting.
  • A talk delivered to a campus group or community group.

CONCLUSION: How to Use This Information …

The above is a Sample Learning Contract.

The first step in fashioning your own Learning Contract is to either …

  1. browse our website to find interesting projects or
  2. email questions nhhagan@gmail.com
  3. talk to a facilitator or
  4. all of the above

You don’t need to draft all your Learning Goals immediately, but you should draft some of them right away.

As always, email nhhagan@gmail.com with any questions.

Leave a Reply

